The Priestly Fraternity of St Pius X (Fraternitas Sacerdotalis Sancti Pii X, or FSSPX) was founded in Switzerland on 1st November 1970. It was established in a rented house by Archbishop-Bishop Emeritus Marcel Lefebvre, retired Superior General of the Congregation of the Holy Ghost and previously Pope Pius XII’s Apostolic Delegate to French Africa, after he was approached by many men who requested a traditional priestly formation.

The Society was canonically instituted under the authorisation of Bishop Charriere of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Lausanne-Geneva-Fribourg, and approved by Cardinal Wright, Prefect of the Congregation of the Clergy in the Roman Curia. In the Swiss village of Econe, a house that the Canons of Great St Bernard had put up for sale was bought by the local Catholic faithful and donated to the new Fraternity to save the property from secularisation. This became the new seminary grounds with the approbation of Bishop Nestor Adam of the Diocese of Sion.

By 1974, one out of every six Catholic seminarians from France was studying in Econe, the SSPX Sisters had been formed, and apostolates in Britain, United States, Italy and France had been created. The FSSPX continued to teach exactly what the Church had always taught, despite intense criticism from certain elements who wanted a more liberal and modern church, and has since grown into an international priestly society of five seminaries and about 700 priests, and has established more than 800 chapels and churches in over 70 countries upon the invitation of local Catholics yearning for the Tradition of the Faith.

Responding to a petition from members of the laity, FSSPX priests visited Singapore to say Traditional Masses in the 1980s. In 1986, the Society established its first Asian priory in India. Regular Masses in Singapore began in 1992. After shifting between various temporary chapels in Orchard, Katong and Geylang, the Singapore Priory was established at Killiney Road in 1999, later moving to the present location at Upper Thomson Road in 2009.